Forum Home Forum Home > Technical & Model Specific Forums > BMW 3 Series
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Forum Lockedheaters on 94 316i

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Direct Link To This Post Topic: heaters on 94 316i
    Posted: 11-January-2005 at 19:29

hi folks

newbie here, i am having problems with the non functioning heaters on my recently purchased 316i.

they were not working when i got it, and found the thermo to be seized.

changed the thermo (with housing), water pump, and fan belt.

no apparent leaks from  hose and temp gauge seems correct at half way mark, during driving etc. (unlike before when the gauge was cold)

however, heaters still blowing cold air.

my brother was the guy who did the work, he had alot of difficulty changing the thermo as some of the old one was stuck in the block when he removed it.

he finally after chisel and drill........got it out. but left some scuff marks on the block.

is this relevant to the hot air issue? i hope its not too serious, i paid like 140euro for the thermo and housing.....not to mention the waterpump........<i know i was ripped off!>

thanks in advance

ezza

Edited by kbannon
Sponsored Links

x in the city View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11-January-2005 at 23:20

update!!

the heaters seem to be working now, there are three positions for the heater control. the window one is deffo working as is the one for the feet. the one for the face just lets out cold air? or is this the way it should be?

i have some more questions about this car you guys might help me out on.

the green light is illuminated for the service, its the one nearest the yellow one. what does this mean? do i have to reset the lights?

i have changed the spark plugs, oil, oil filter and air filter as well as the water pump et al.

sometimes the car rev's up when idle and goes back to normal and then revs up again.........as if the power steering or something was going? is this normal behaviour?