Bavarian-Board.co.uk - BMW Owners Discussion Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Regional & Specific Forums > Irish Forum
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Forum LockedHi! Newbie here needing advice !

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Hi! Newbie here needing advice !
    Posted: 16-October-2005 at 20:16

Hi there guys. I've been thinking for months and I have finally made up my mind.... I am going ahead and buy my dream car - an E39 523. Found a cpl from the auto-trader and cbg websites.It would also be my first ever car ( been driving my parents cars for years !), adn therefore I must admit that I am somewhat naive when it comes to buying used cars. Thats why I am here with a few questions and I hope u guys can help me:

1) What should I look out for when buying a second hand car. I know this may sound silly, I havent a clue to to inspect and what questions to ask before buying a used car. The 2 cars I short listed has a FBMWSH ( took me AGES to figure that one out ! ). Is that usually enough ?

2) The Nikasil issue - Is there a way to tell if the car is affected or now. I know I can always ask the garage owner but how to I get proof?

3) What is the fuel consumption like ? How much is a full tank usually?

4) Anymore tips/hints for a first time car buyer ?

Thanks Guys !

Sponsored Links

Valdas View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17-October-2005 at 03:57

good choice for a first car!

As far as i know Nikasil issue affected cars made until 04.98 if you buy newer than that you're ok. if car made before that your best bet would be to check compression in each cyllinder. it very simple and quick test, but it is hard to find garage wich has that tool. Also you can start engine (must be cold),  fully open door and look at the top edge for vibation. good engine vibration should be barely visible.