Bavarian-Board.co.uk - BMW Owners Discussion Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Regional & Specific Forums > South Western Area
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - South West Dyno Day
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

South West Dyno Day

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
SHEPSM3 View Drop Down
Bavarian-Board Contributor
Bavarian-Board Contributor
Avatar
UK Sport Evolution.

Joined: 26-December-2004
Location: Bristol, UK.
Status: Offline
Points: 1934
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SHEPSM3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: South West Dyno Day
    Posted: 14-March-2009 at 13:56

Further to a request by one of our customers (PiersM5) we have decided to arrange a dyno day for BMW M power cars and the likes of. Anyone is welcome.

Venue is at Circuit Motors, Castle Combe, SN14 7HB.

Date is Saturday April 04th 2009.

Kick off at 9-9.30am.

Cost £40 for 2 runs with AFR's and Boost if you have forced induced your car.

3 E28 M5's have already commited to the day. No deposit required, just pay on the day.

Paul.



Edited by SHEPSM3
[IMG]http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y135/ShepsM3/New-1a1.jpg">[IMG]http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y135/ShepsM3/New-1b1.jpg">
Back to Top
Sponsored Links


Back to Top
Webdunk View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar
M3 GT Register

Joined: 16-October-2002
Location: Central Scotland
Status: Offline
Points: 5245
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Webdunk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16-March-2009 at 13:18
We just had our dyno day up here. Had real problems with getting clean runs with E39 M5s and E46 M3s as the cars' electronics were getting upset and cutting in. How does Circuit Motors handle trying to dyno these cars?

Also had some trouble with E36 M3s although this looked like it might be some kind of calibration issue...
Back to Top
SHEPSM3 View Drop Down
Bavarian-Board Contributor
Bavarian-Board Contributor
Avatar
UK Sport Evolution.

Joined: 26-December-2004
Location: Bristol, UK.
Status: Offline
Points: 1934
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SHEPSM3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16-March-2009 at 13:45

Originally posted by Webdunk Webdunk wrote:

We just had our dyno day up here. Had real problems with getting clean runs with E39 M5s and E46 M3s as the cars' electronics were getting upset and cutting in. How does Circuit Motors handle trying to dyno these cars?

Also had some trouble with E36 M3s although this looked like it might be some kind of calibration issue...

Hi mate, to dyno the E46 M3's and the later M5's you have to put the car in dyno mode. I don't have this procedure to hand, but you can put it in dyno mode from the right scanner I believe too.

I have never had any problems with running them up atall, except when its gone out of dyno mode and limits the car to about 5000 rpm.

E36 M3's - again, no problem whatsoever.

What problems were you experiancing and where did you have the day? What dyno?

Paul.

EDIT: One other thing, if you do not have adequate cooling, this will also see a drop in power even during a power run!!



Edited by SHEPSM3
[IMG]http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y135/ShepsM3/New-1a1.jpg">[IMG]http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y135/ShepsM3/New-1b1.jpg">
Back to Top
Webdunk View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar
M3 GT Register

Joined: 16-October-2002
Location: Central Scotland
Status: Offline
Points: 5245
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Webdunk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16-March-2009 at 13:54
We had heard mutterings about 'dyno mode' for some of the M cars but were not 100% which models that applied to and how to activate it. I would be interested in anything concrete you could lay your hands on w.r.t. that as I don't know of any Scottish RRs which can successfully dyno the modern M cars.

E36s I don't know what the prob was... Mine has dyno'd fine in the past on a Maha dyno but this Dyno Dynamics one seemed to get confused. The operator took the car up to the start of the redline in the cabin - iro 7000 revs - yet the plot topped out at well under 7000revs on the x-axis making me wonder if some kind of calibration was out..?

Seemed to be plenty cooling and sets of power runs between 3-6 runs were tending to show very similar numbers.
Back to Top
SHEPSM3 View Drop Down
Bavarian-Board Contributor
Bavarian-Board Contributor
Avatar
UK Sport Evolution.

Joined: 26-December-2004
Location: Bristol, UK.
Status: Offline
Points: 1934
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SHEPSM3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16-March-2009 at 16:20

The E36 M3 will run up on the dyno with no issues... there is no electronics to put any gremlins into the mix. The E46 definately does have a dyno mode procedure to be carried out, also I am certain the E39 M5's do too.

The Dyno dynamics should run these cars with no issue also, but you would need to do in the region of 6 to 8 runs to get a consistent 2 runs as these just generally put a percentage on the wheel power to get the flywheel power. It also should be done by an operator who knows what he is doing on those machines as even strapping the car down too tight will cause lower readings! I have 1st hand experiance of this.

Calibration should be done at 3000 rpm and at full throttle in the gear you want to conduct the power run. This is the same on the vast majority of dynos out there. If the RPM is incorrect the the torque figures will be also.

Hope this helps,

Paul.



Edited by SHEPSM3
[IMG]http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y135/ShepsM3/New-1a1.jpg">[IMG]http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y135/ShepsM3/New-1b1.jpg">
Back to Top
Webdunk View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar
M3 GT Register

Joined: 16-October-2002
Location: Central Scotland
Status: Offline
Points: 5245
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Webdunk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17-March-2009 at 09:35
Paul,

Can you make any observations from this?



vs Maha run at http://www.m3gtregister.com/pdf/m3gt_rr.pdf
Back to Top
SHEPSM3 View Drop Down
Bavarian-Board Contributor
Bavarian-Board Contributor
Avatar
UK Sport Evolution.

Joined: 26-December-2004
Location: Bristol, UK.
Status: Offline
Points: 1934
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SHEPSM3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17-March-2009 at 10:16

Yes, the MAHA one looks as it should and the DD one doesn't lol.

239bhp at the flywheel? That is massively out. This is probably a combination of the engine RPM to roller speed wasn't calibrated correctly and the car was also probably tied down too hard.

Put it this way, have you noticed a 60bhp loss in power?

Did they calibrate the car in 4th and do the run in 3rd?

Paul.

[IMG]http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y135/ShepsM3/New-1a1.jpg">[IMG]http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y135/ShepsM3/New-1b1.jpg">
Back to Top
Webdunk View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar
M3 GT Register

Joined: 16-October-2002
Location: Central Scotland
Status: Offline
Points: 5245
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Webdunk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17-March-2009 at 10:21
Originally posted by SHEPSM3 SHEPSM3 wrote:

the car was also probably tied down too hard.


That makes some sense. Wheels were spinning away at the first attempt so they tied it down much more firmly. Suspect my Toyo Snoprox didn't help there...

Originally posted by SHEPSM3 SHEPSM3 wrote:

Did they calibrate the car in 4th and do the run in 3rd?


AFAIK Calibration was done in 3rd.

Originally posted by SHEPSM3 SHEPSM3 wrote:

Put it this way, have you noticed a 60bhp loss in power?


Nope

TBH I'm happy my car is running well. I'm more interested in getting to the bottom of why the numbers were squiffy as the folk running the road have only recently got it. They're very friendly and have a great rep for knowing their stuff with all sorts of oriental machinery. If they're doing something dippy with their RR it would be nice to give 'em a hand.
Back to Top
SHEPSM3 View Drop Down
Bavarian-Board Contributor
Bavarian-Board Contributor
Avatar
UK Sport Evolution.

Joined: 26-December-2004
Location: Bristol, UK.
Status: Offline
Points: 1934
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SHEPSM3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17-March-2009 at 10:27

Ah ok,

I am suprised they were loosing traction in 3rd gear... I run them up in 4th and I don't even need any tie down straps, just chocks on the front wheels. But I can also do the run in 3rd without wheelspin on an E36 M3, still with just the front wheels chocked.

I would go back and ask for a run in 4th with no tie down straps. This should teach them something

[IMG]http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y135/ShepsM3/New-1a1.jpg">[IMG]http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y135/ShepsM3/New-1b1.jpg">
Back to Top
Webdunk View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar
M3 GT Register

Joined: 16-October-2002
Location: Central Scotland
Status: Offline
Points: 5245
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Webdunk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17-March-2009 at 10:39
Originally posted by SHEPSM3 SHEPSM3 wrote:

I would go back and ask for a run in 4th with no tie down straps. This should teach them something


Sounds scary. The RR was about 1-2feet off the ground!



Don't fancy a Dukes of Hazzard style unplanned dismount :-/
Back to Top
SHEPSM3 View Drop Down
Bavarian-Board Contributor
Bavarian-Board Contributor
Avatar
UK Sport Evolution.

Joined: 26-December-2004
Location: Bristol, UK.
Status: Offline
Points: 1934
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SHEPSM3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17-March-2009 at 12:06

It will be ok, cars with 300bhp or less you don't really need the tie downs, but you will have to chock or strap up the front wheels to prevent it moving.

Ask them to test the car in 4th with and without the tie downs and see what the difference is.

Paul.



Edited by SHEPSM3
[IMG]http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y135/ShepsM3/New-1a1.jpg">[IMG]http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y135/ShepsM3/New-1b1.jpg">
Back to Top
nero View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar
Just call me Tripod

Joined: 15-October-2002
Location: Scotland
Status: Offline
Points: 3131
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nero Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17-March-2009 at 12:28
Originally posted by Webdunk Webdunk wrote:


That makes some sense. Wheels were spinning away at the first attempt so they tied it down much more firmly. Suspect my Toyo Snoprox didn't help there...


I don't know if it is worth mentioning ...
  1. there was a very strong smell of burning rubber, especially when your car was on, which would back up "the tied down too much" theory.
  2. tyre pressures were changed (increased?) - I've not seen this done at any previous RR days I've been at
  3. The last RR day I was at (Star Performance) they used something  in an aerosol spray to spray the tyres.





Back to Top
SHEPSM3 View Drop Down
Bavarian-Board Contributor
Bavarian-Board Contributor
Avatar
UK Sport Evolution.

Joined: 26-December-2004
Location: Bristol, UK.
Status: Offline
Points: 1934
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SHEPSM3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17-March-2009 at 13:01
Originally posted by nero nero wrote:

I don't know if it is worth mentioning ...
  1. there was a very strong smell of burning rubber, especially when your car was on, which would back up "the tied down too much" theory.
  2. tyre pressures were changed (increased?) - I've not seen this done at any previous RR days I've been at
  3. The last RR day I was at (Star Performance) they used something  in an aerosol spray to spray the tyres.

I am suprised if they had wheel spin. The spray some guys use is either WD40 or tyre softner, I used to use WD40 as our rollers on our old dyno was smooth. On our new dyno and the DD machine for that matter, have nurled rollers to help with traction. If the DD machine is rated at over 2400bhp, I wonder why they had traction problems with only "239.8 bhp"?

Personally I have dyno'd much more powerfull cars than that and on a DD machine, but never had problems like that. :s

[IMG]http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y135/ShepsM3/New-1a1.jpg">[IMG]http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y135/ShepsM3/New-1b1.jpg">
Back to Top
nero View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar
Just call me Tripod

Joined: 15-October-2002
Location: Scotland
Status: Offline
Points: 3131
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nero Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17-March-2009 at 13:15
Originally posted by Webdunk Webdunk wrote:

Sounds scary. The RR was about 1-2feet off the ground!








Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.234 seconds.