Bavarian-Board.co.uk - BMW Owners Discussion Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical & Model Specific Forums > BMW 3 Series
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Forum Lockedflat spot and diagnostic issues

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Advanced Newbie
Advanced Newbie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jimmybrown Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: flat spot and diagnostic issues
    Posted: 28-March-2013 at 15:23
hello, I am new to BMW, I bought a 1992 318IS E36 140 BHP a couple of months ago, the previous owner was fed up; He had being getting it done by a BMW Main Service shop, after spending a lot of money on sensors and other Items which they said was wrong TOO CORRECT A FLAT SPOT IN ACCELARATION, around 3000rpm, it was still not cured.
The car itself is orginal and NEVER BEEN IN A CRASH OF ANY SORT.
I got it for scrap Price; I drove 170 miles home without too much difficulty, knowing that the previous owner had been told THAT THE BMW GARAGE, SAID THAT IT REQUIRED A NEW TIMING CHAIN AND TENSIONERS, the car was never difficult to start, it did not misfire at any stage or in any gear, This was not Timing, this was fuel related,
the first thing I noticed was the top end was very hot, I intended removing the thermostat, but it had been replaced by the BMW GARAGE, I took it out anyway, the opening range was far to high, even when I questioned BMW in Germany they refused and still to refuse to answer.
I installed a 10c degree lower opening thermostat, now the whole engine cools even on short trips. I have restored and played with cars for 40 plus years, I normally only do classic cars and motorcycles, This was my first Modern Classic, what I am almost certain was happening, as the Rubber Injection and Vacuum Lines were all very soft, the Fuel Pump was working overtime as most of the fuel was vaporising in the lines because heat from the top end.