Bavarian-Board.co.uk - BMW Owners Discussion Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical & Model Specific Forums > BMW 3 Series
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Forum Lockedoverheating

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Advanced Newbie
Advanced Newbie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jimmybrown Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: overheating
    Posted: 12-April-2013 at 13:42
I am new to BMW, I can only say what I have come across with my Petrol 92, 318IS, which had issues when I bought it, It had been worked on by BMW and Diagnostics showed issues that are misleading.
a neighbour has one also he is a BMW Mechanic, he was surprised, how I found the problem I needed solved, he had warned me about Water Pumps and associated parts causing problems.
It is clear that the cars were built to run Motorway, not a lot of Local driving or getting stuck in traffic.
The Thermostat system is set up with a groove on housing and no hole in the thermostat until of course it opens. What actual happens, is the groove gradually gets closed off with the residue, ITS LIKE CONCRETE, caused by short local trips, why BMW install a 92-94 deg opening temp thermostat. that means when it goes on short trips the Thermostat for the Top of the Engine does not get Coolant, when repaired mine, there was less than half a cup of coolant came out, yet the reservoir showed it was OK the Rad was OK. I normally only have old cars as I restore old Cars and Bikes, thermostats even on the earliest alloy engines back in the 70's the Thermostat opening temp was from as low as 78 but generally around 82 - 88 max degrees, the other point was they had 3/32" hole in them at the top, which had a small waxy type float through it this asured that it did not block up and also allowed coolant in even on short trips. I changed my thermostat which was NEW and installed by BMW Dealership for a lower opening temp.